Branch Show 2017

It was a great show on Saturday the 3rd June. The annual BCSS Glasgow Branch Open Show took place, as usual, in the Kibble Palace. Although there were some heavy downpours, the sun shone much of the time, encouraging visitors to survey the plants and even buy some afterwards at the sales table. The judge was Ian Thwaites who congratulated the entrants on the standard of plants.

Although the number of plants (543) was down a little on 2016, the number of exhibitors (19) and the number of entries (456) was up, so this was a good result for the new Show Secretary, Agnes MacLean – well done Agnes!

On behalf of the BCSS, the judge presented Niel Sinclair with the Society’s Show Committee Award for outstanding services to the Glasgow Branch and the Society.

The full results were

Glasgow Challenge Shield – Hamish McKelvie.
Glasgow Trophy – Justin Gilbert
Clydesdale Rose Bowl – Agnes MacLean
Marie Fox Trophy – George Thomson
Helen C. MacDonald Trophy – Niel Sinclair
50th Anniversary Trophy – Hamish McKelvie
BCSS Bronze Medal – Ewen Brown
21st Anniversary Trophy (best plant in Novice Section) – Patricia Baird
Clydesdale Novice Trophy – Patricia Baird
John Fox Trophy – George Thomson and Hamish McKelvie
Swinton Bowl – Niel Sinclair
Clyde Trophy – Niel Sinclair
Kelvin Trophy – Hamish McKelvie
Rosie Cup – Hamish McKelvie
Jess and Murray Rolfe Memorial Cup – George Thomson
Ron Ginns Medal –Hamish McKelvie
BCSS Diploma and Silver Medal for best cactus – Niel Sinclair
BCSS Diploma and Silver Medal for best other succulent – Elizabeth Ferro
Bronze Medal for runner up to best cactus – George Thomson
Bronze Medal for runner up to best other succulent – George Thomson
BCSS Award of Merit for cactus specialist class – George Thomson
BCSS Award of Merit for best other succulent specialist class – Justin Gilbert

The next show will be the Autumn Table Show in October for BCSS Glasgow Branch members only.

Best cactus Mammillaria parkinsonii (Niel Sinclair)

Runner up best cactus Echinocactus horozonthalonius (George Thomson)

Best other succulent Pachypodium succulentum X namaquanum (Elizabeth Ferro)

Runner up best other succulent Euphorbia obesa cristate (George Thomson)

Judge’s Choice Six Melocactus (George Thomson)

Niel Sinclair (left) receives his award from Ian Thwaites – photo Sheila Gibbs